Filed daily RSSSearch
Booked News

The numbers behind short-term rentals. Rates, occupancy, demand, fees, supply and returns, every figure traced to its source.

FeesData desk · Reference

Short-term rental platform fees compared

What Airbnb, Vrbo, Booking.com, Hipcamp and Furnished Finder charge hosts and guests, from each platform’s own help, partner and newsroom pages, with the fee changes of 2025 and 2026 by date.

By Leo Varga Platforms & Fees EditorPublished 9 October 2026Figures checked 9 October 2026
Lead figure15.5%Airbnb single service fee paid by most hosts, deducted from the payout1Every figure on this page links to its source at the foot of the page
14.1% to 16.5%Airbnb guest service fee on the split fee, share of the booking subtotal1
12%Vrbo flat pay-per-booking commission, including payment processing, from 29 October 202611
5% and 3%Vrbo pay-per-booking commission and payment processing fee before the change13
15%Hipcamp commission for private landowners (12.5% for software-integrated parks)16
$199Furnished Finder annual subscription per listing from 2 January 202618

What each platform charges

Most Airbnb hosts on the company’s single service fee pay 15.5%, deducted from their payout, and Airbnb says it is moving all home hosts to that structure1. Expedia Group, which owns Vrbo, says Vrbo hosts on pay-per-booking will pay a flat 12% commission that includes payment processing, with the change taking effect from 29 October 202611. Booking.com publishes no standard commission; its partner help says the percentage depends on the country, the property type and the agreement the property signed14.

Among smaller platforms, Hipcamp charges private landowners 15% and parks integrated through property management software 12.5%16. Furnished Finder charges landlords an annual subscription of $199 per listing from 2 January 2026, and says travellers pay no service or booking fee1819.

The figures on this page come from each platform’s own help centre, partner pages or newsroom, read on 8 and 9 October 2026. Where a platform changed its text during 2025 or 2026, earlier versions are cited from copies kept by the Internet Archive’s Wayback Machine.

Table 1Booking platform fees for hosts and guests, as published
PlatformWho paysFeeBasisAs ofSource
Airbnb, single feeHost15.5% (most hosts); 14%-16% (remaining hosts); 16% (Brazil and Mexico)Nightly price plus fees the host adds, such as cleaningRead 8 Oct 2026Airbnb Help Centre; Airbnb Resource Center
Airbnb, split fee (being phased out)Host3% (most hosts); 4% (Brazil and Mexico)Nightly price and host fees, excluding the guest fee and taxesRead 8 Oct 2026Airbnb Help Centre
Airbnb, split fee (being phased out)Guest14.1% to 16.5%; up to 16.5% on cross-currency bookingsBooking subtotal: nightly price and host fees, excluding the guest fee and taxesRead 8 Oct 2026Airbnb Help Centre
Vrbo, pay-per-booking from 29 Oct 2026Host12% flat, including payment processing; 12-15% by region and brandNightly rate and host fees such as cleaning, pet and boat fees; taxes and refundable damage deposits treated separatelyAnnounced 1 Oct 2026Expedia Group newsroom
Vrbo, pay-per-booking before the changeHost5% commission plus 3% payment processingCommission on rental amount and host fees; processing on the total guest payment, including taxes and refundable damage depositsCopy archived 1 Apr 2026Vrbo Help
Vrbo, hosts on property management softwareHost12%; 12%-15% in some regions such as Europe, Australia and New ZealandBookings made through Vrbo’s family of sitesRead 9 Oct 2026Vrbo Help
Vrbo, reservation from Vrbo sites not booked through its checkoutHost using property management software10%Rental amount, mandatory fees and withheld deposits, excluding taxes and refundable damage depositsRead 9 Oct 2026Vrbo Help
Vrbo, traveller service feeGuestn/aRange not disclosed; priced dynamically by market conditionsAnnounced 1 Oct 2026Expedia Group newsroom
Booking.com, commissionPropertyn/aTotal booking amount including host fees and, in most countries, VAT or GST; not local taxes such as city taxRead 9 Oct 2026Booking.com Partner Help
Payments by Booking.com, bank-transfer payoutsPropertyn/aTotal value of each completed reservation; rate depends on the property’s locationRead 9 Oct 2026Booking.com Partner Help
Hipcamp, private landownersHost15%Each bookingUpdated 18 Aug 2025Hipcamp Help
Hipcamp, parks integrated through property management softwareHost12.5%Each bookingUpdated 18 Aug 2025Hipcamp Help
Hipcamp, service feeGuestMinimum $3 per bookingProportional to the cost of the bookingRead 9 Oct 2026Hipcamp Help
Furnished Finder, annual subscriptionLandlord$199 per listing; $149 per add-on unit; $750 per hotel or full apartment complexPer yearFrom 2 Jan 2026Furnished Finder Help Center
Furnished FinderTravellerNo service or booking feeSearching, contacting landlords and finding housingRead 9 Oct 2026Furnished Finder Help Center

Fees as each platform publishes them, on the date shown. n/a means the platform publishes no figure: Vrbo does not disclose its traveller fee range, and Booking.com sets commission by country, property type and agreement and its payment fee by location. The Airbnb single-fee basis is from Airbnb’s April 2026 fee article. Airbnb also charges services typically 15% (minimum $6 USD) and experiences typically 20%.

Source: Airbnb, Inc., Airbnb, Inc., archived by the Internet Archive Wayback Machine, Expedia Group, Vrbo (HomeAway.com, Inc.), Vrbo (HomeAway.com, Inc.), archived by the Internet Archive Wayback Machine, Booking.com, Hipcamp, Furnished Finder18111213141516171819

Download the tableCSV file, 15 rows, with the source links and the date checked

This table was compiled by Booked News and may be reused with credit and a link (CC BY 4.0). The figures themselves belong to the bodies that published them, named in the sources.

Table 2Platform fee changes by date, as announced
DatePlatformChangeSource
25 Aug 2025AirbnbNew hosts who use property management software can only choose the single feeAirbnb Help Centre, copy archived 6 Oct 2025
27 Oct 2025AirbnbMost hosts using property management software move automatically to the single fee; most software-connected single-fee hosts start paying 15.5%Airbnb Help Centre, copy archived 6 Oct 2025
1 Dec 2025AirbnbMost single-fee hosts not connected to property management software start paying 15.5%Airbnb Help Centre, copy archived 6 Oct 2025
2 Jan 2026Furnished FinderAnnual subscription set at $199 per listing, $149 per add-on unit and $750 per hotel or full apartment complexFurnished Finder Help Center
13 Apr 2026AirbnbSoftware-connected hosts still on the split fee switch to the single feeAirbnb Resource Center, article dated 10 Apr 2026, archived copy
25 May 2026AirbnbHosts living in Peru or South Korea switch to the single feeAirbnb Resource Center, 22 Mar 2026
June 2026AirbnbListings in Mexico pay 4% on the split fee and 16% on the single feeAirbnb Help Centre, copy archived 7 May 2026
22 Jun 2026AirbnbHosts living in Germany or the UK switch to the single feeAirbnb Resource Center, 22 Mar 2026
15 Sep 2026AirbnbDeadline to adjust prices for the single fee, hosts living outside the European Economic AreaAirbnb Resource Center, updated 24 Aug 2026
13 Oct 2026AirbnbDeadline for hosts in the European Economic Area or Switzerland; software users not yet on the single fee switchAirbnb Resource Center, 24 Aug 2026 and 29 Jul 2026
27 Oct 2026Furnished FinderHotel and apartment complex subscription rises to $1,000 per yearFurnished Finder Help Center
29 Oct 2026VrboFlat 12% pay-per-booking commission including processing; processing fees end for hosts on Vrbo’s merchant of record, with regional exceptions; subscription hosts move at the end of their termExpedia Group newsroom, 1 Oct 2026

Dates as each platform states them. Airbnb’s 2026 articles give the day and month only; the year shown is the year in which the article was published. The 13 October, 27 October and 29 October 2026 dates had not yet passed when this page was checked.

Source: Airbnb, Inc., Airbnb, Inc., archived by the Internet Archive Wayback Machine, Expedia Group, Furnished Finder2345781118

Download the tableCSV file, 12 rows, with the source links and the date checked

This table was compiled by Booked News and may be reused with credit and a link (CC BY 4.0). The figures themselves belong to the bodies that published them, named in the sources.

Airbnb split fee and single fee

Airbnb runs two fee structures for stays. Under the split fee, which Airbnb says is being phased out, the host pays a service fee and the guest pays a second one. Under the single fee, Airbnb deducts the entire fee from the host’s payout1.

  • Split fee, host: most hosts pay 3%, though Airbnb says “some pay more”, and listings in Brazil and Mexico pay 4%. The fee is a percentage of the nightly price and any fees the host charges, excluding the guest service fee and taxes1.
  • Split fee, guest: 14.1% to 16.5% of the booking subtotal, which is the nightly price plus the host’s fees, before the guest fee and taxes. Airbnb says the guest fee varies with a range of factors and may be higher or lower on a given booking1.
  • Single fee, host: most hosts pay 15.5%, the remaining hosts typically pay 14%-16%, and listings in Brazil and Mexico pay 16%1.

Airbnb says the single fee is mandatory for most hosts, including hotels and serviced apartments, hosts who use property management software and hosts in countries subject to it. A host who has switched cannot switch back, and bookings made before the switch keep the old structure1. Where VAT applies, the fees Airbnb shows to hosts and guests include it1.

In Airbnb’s own example, a $100 nightly price on the split fee shows guests $115 and pays the host $97. On the single fee, a host who keeps the price at $100 earns $84.50 and the guest sees $100, while a host who raises it to $115 earns $972. Airbnb says the 15.5% rate is based on its global average service fees2.

Other Airbnb categories have their own rates: typically 15% for services, with a minimum of $6 USD, and typically 20% for experiences1.

Airbnb hosts on property management software

Hosts who manage prices through property management or channel management software moved first. The version of Airbnb’s fee article archived on 6 October 2025 set out the schedule5.

  • 25 August 2025: new hosts who use such software and sign up with Airbnb can only choose the single fee5.
  • 27 October 2025: most hosts who use the software move automatically to the single fee, and most hosts already on the single fee who are connected to the software start paying 15.5%5.
  • 1 December 2025: most single-fee hosts who are not connected to such software start paying 15.5%. Listings in Brazil stay at 16%, and hotel listings under contract with Airbnb Travel LLC are excluded5.

A later Airbnb article, dated 10 April 2026, says software-connected hosts who were still on the split fee switched to the single fee on 13 April 2026, and that some had switched in late 20258. Airbnb’s article dated 29 July 2026 says software users not yet on the single fee will switch on 13 October3. None of these articles names the countries covered by each wave.

Airbnb’s 2026 switch for all home hosts

During 2026 Airbnb extended the single fee to hosts without software, country by country. An article dated 22 March 2026 says hosts living in Peru or South Korea switch on 25 May and hosts living in Germany or the UK on 22 June4. An article published on 7 July 2026 and updated on 24 August gives the deadline to adjust prices as 15 September for hosts living outside the European Economic Area and 13 October for hosts in the EEA or Switzerland. Airbnb says hosts who miss their deadline will see lower prices and payouts per night2.

The same article shows how VAT on the fee works for a host who is not VAT-registered in a country with 20% VAT. Its $100 example price adjusts to $119, made up of a single service fee of $17.83 and VAT on that fee of $3.57, which leaves a payout of $97.602. Airbnb’s price adjustment tool adds such taxes automatically unless the host is VAT or GST registered and self-assesses VAT2.

Mexico moved to Brazil’s rates in 2026. The fee article archived on 7 May 2026 said hosts would pay a 4% split fee and a 16% single fee for listings in Mexico starting June 20267. The current article lists Brazil and Mexico together at those rates1.

Airbnb Super Strict policies, currency and payout charges

Airbnb’s fee article no longer lists a surcharge for Super Strict cancellation policies. The version archived on 6 October 2025 said single-fee hosts typically paid 14–16%, that hosts with Super Strict policies “may pay an additional 2%”, and that fees for stays of 28 nights or more may be less5. The same wording appears in the copy archived on 3 February 20266. The current article, read on 8 October 2026, does not mention Super Strict policies1.

Currency mismatches carry their own charges. When a guest pays in a currency different from the listing’s, Airbnb adds an amount to the guest service fee, taking it to as much as 16.5% of the booking subtotal1. On the host side, Airbnb deducts an exchange fee from the payout when the listing currency differs from the payout currency. The help article gives no rate and says hosts can avoid the charge by changing the currency in the listing’s pricing settings9.

Hosts in the US who choose Fast Pay, which sends payouts to an eligible debit or prepaid card within 30 minutes, pay 1.5% of each payout, with a maximum of $15 USD including tax. Airbnb says Fast Pay is not available outside the US10.

Vrbo commission from 29 October 2026

Expedia Group’s newsroom published a question-and-answer page on Vrbo’s compensation model dated 1 October 202611. Its main points:

  • Vrbo is retiring its subscription model and moving those hosts to pay-per-booking11.
  • Pay-per-booking hosts will pay a flat 12% commission on bookings, which includes payment processing fees. Rates may vary by region and across Vrbo’s heritage brands, ranging from 12-15%, and hosts can see the rate for each listing in the Vrbo dashboard11.
  • From 29 October 2026, payment processing fees end for hosts on Vrbo’s merchant of record, with some regional exceptions11.
  • Changes begin on 29 October 2026. For hosts on a subscription, they apply at the end of the subscription term11.
  • Bookings made before the change keep the host’s previous commission, plus the usual processing fee where Vrbo is the merchant of record. The rate follows the time the booking was made, whatever the stay dates11.
  • The commission is charged on the nightly rate and the host’s additional fees, such as cleaning, pet and boat fees. Taxes and refundable damage deposits are treated separately11.

Vrbo’s help article on pay-per-booking fees already shows the new rate, described as a flat, all-in 12% commission that includes processing12. It adds that bookings from Vrbo’s expanded distribution partners may carry higher fees, that hosts using property management software pay 12%, or 12%-15% in some regions such as Europe, Australia and New Zealand, and that hosts on such software pay a 10% booking fee when a reservation comes from Vrbo’s sites without going through its checkout12. Where VAT applies, it is charged in addition to the commission. The same article still says taxes and security deposits are subject to a 3% payment processing fee12.

Vrbo fees before the change

The copy of the same Vrbo help article archived on 1 April 2026 set out the earlier pay-per-booking fees13.

  • A 5% commission on the rental amount and any fees the host charges the guest, such as cleaning, pet and boat fees13.
  • A 3% payment processing fee on the total payment from the guest, including taxes and refundable damage deposits. The part charged on a deposit was returned when the deposit was refunded, and the processing fee did not apply to hosts using property management software13.
  • For hosts using property management software, a 5% booking fee on bookings through Vrbo’s sites, or 12%-15% in some regions such as Europe, Australia and New Zealand13.
  • For properties in Australia, New Zealand and Japan, no processing fee and a 5% commission plus GST13.

Vrbo also charges travellers a service fee but does not disclose its range. The newsroom page says the fee will typically be lower after the change and that Vrbo prices it dynamically according to market conditions11.

Booking.com commission

Booking.com charges properties a commission set as a percentage of the total booking amount: the room rate plus fees the property charges, such as cleaning or service fees and charges for no-shows or cancellations. It is applied once the guest checks out, and non-refundable or partly refundable bookings carry commission whether or not the guest stays14.

Booking.com’s partner help gives no standard rate or typical range. It says the exact percentage depends on the country, the property type and the accommodation agreement signed on joining, and that properties can see what applies to them during registration14. Taking part in the Preferred Partner Program or Visibility Booster adds a percentage on top of the base commission, and the rate is locked at the moment the guest books14.

Booking.com does not charge commission on local taxes such as city tax, but in most countries it charges commission on VAT or GST, depending on local law. Commission is invoiced once a month for stays that ended in the previous month, and invoices must be paid within 14 days of issue14.

Payments by Booking.com, the company’s guest-payment service, has no setup fee. Properties paid by bank transfer pay a payment service fee set as a percentage of the total value of each completed reservation, depending on the property’s location; the page gives no figure. Properties paid by virtual credit card pay a per-reservation transaction fee to their own bank or payment provider15.

Hipcamp

Hipcamp, a booking platform for campsites and outdoor stays, says listing is free and that it takes a commission only on bookings: 15% for private landowners and 12.5% for parks integrated through property management software, deducted from each booking16. Guests pay a Hipcamp service fee proportional to the cost of the booking, with a minimum of $3 per booking. Hipcamp says the fee varies from booking to booking17.

Furnished Finder

Furnished Finder, a listing site for monthly furnished rentals, charges landlords an annual subscription. From 2 January 2026 the price is $199 per listing, $149 per add-on unit and $750 for an entire hotel or full apartment complex. The hotel and complex price rises to $1,000 per year from 27 October 202618.

Travellers pay no service or booking fee to search, contact landlords or find housing. Where a landlord collects rent through Furnished Finder’s online payments, a card processing fee set by Stripe or Baselane may apply19.

Common questions

What is Airbnb’s host fee in 2026?

Airbnb’s help centre says most hosts on its single service fee pay 15.5%, deducted from the payout, the remaining hosts typically pay 14%-16%, and listings in Brazil and Mexico pay 16%. Hosts still on the older split fee pay 3% in most cases, or 4% in Brazil and Mexico, while their guests pay 14.1% to 16.5% of the booking subtotal. Airbnb says it is moving all home hosts to the single fee1.

What commission does Vrbo charge hosts?

Expedia Group says Vrbo pay-per-booking hosts will pay a flat 12% commission that includes payment processing, with changes taking effect from 29 October 2026, and that rates may range from 12-15% by region and brand11. Before the change, Vrbo’s help centre listed a 5% commission and a 3% payment processing fee13. Bookings made before the change keep the previous rate11.

What commission does Booking.com charge?

Booking.com does not publish a standard rate. Its partner help says commission is a set percentage of the total booking amount, including fees the property charges, and that the exact percentage depends on the country, the property type and the property’s agreement. Programs such as Preferred Partner and Visibility Booster add a percentage on top of the base rate14.

Which booking platform charges hosts the least?

The platforms publish different kinds of figures on different bases, so their own pages do not support a like-for-like ranking. Airbnb lists 15.5% for most single-fee hosts1. Vrbo lists a flat 12% from 29 October 2026, including processing11. Hipcamp lists 15% for private landowners and 12.5% for software-integrated parks16. Furnished Finder charges $199 a year per listing18. Booking.com publishes no standard rate14.

Does Airbnb charge more for a Super Strict cancellation policy?

Airbnb’s current service-fee article does not mention a Super Strict surcharge1. Versions archived in October 2025 and February 2026 said single-fee hosts with Super Strict cancellation policies may pay an additional 2%56.

Do guests pay a service fee on Vrbo?

Yes. Expedia Group says Vrbo charges travellers a service fee but does not disclose its range. It says the fee will typically be lower after the October 2026 change to host commissions and is priced dynamically according to market conditions11.

Sources

  1. Airbnb, Inc., Airbnb service fees (Help Centre article 1857). Primary source, read 2026-10-08.
  2. Airbnb, Inc., Simplifying service fees on Airbnb (Resource Center, published 7 July 2026, updated 24 August 2026) (2026-08-24). Primary source, read 2026-10-08.
  3. Airbnb, Inc., Simplifying Airbnb service fees (Resource Center) (2026-07-29). Primary source, read 2026-10-08.
  4. Airbnb, Inc., Simplifying service fees (Resource Center) (2026-03-22). Primary source, read 2026-10-08.
  5. Airbnb, Inc., archived by the Internet Archive Wayback Machine, Airbnb service fees (Help Centre article 1857), copy archived 6 October 2025 (2025-10-06). Primary source, read 2026-10-08.
  6. Airbnb, Inc., archived by the Internet Archive Wayback Machine, Airbnb service fees (Help Centre article 1857), copy archived 3 February 2026 (2026-02-03). Primary source, read 2026-10-08.
  7. Airbnb, Inc., archived by the Internet Archive Wayback Machine, Airbnb service fees (Help Centre article 1857), copy archived 7 May 2026 (2026-05-07). Primary source, read 2026-10-08.
  8. Airbnb, Inc., archived by the Internet Archive Wayback Machine, Simplifying Airbnb service fees (version dated 10 April 2026), copy archived 16 April 2026 (2026-04-10). Primary source, read 2026-10-08.
  9. Airbnb, Inc., Calculating your payout (Help Centre article 459). Primary source, read 2026-10-08.
  10. Airbnb, Inc., Payouts by Fast Pay (Help Centre article 3326). Primary source, read 2026-10-08.
  11. Expedia Group, Vrbo Compensation Model Changes (newsroom FAQ) (2026-10-01). Primary source, read 2026-10-09.
  12. Vrbo (HomeAway.com, Inc.), About the pay-per-booking (PPB) model (Vrbo Help). Primary source, read 2026-10-09.
  13. Vrbo (HomeAway.com, Inc.), archived by the Internet Archive Wayback Machine, About pay-per-booking fees (Vrbo Help), copy archived 1 April 2026 (2026-04-01). Primary source, read 2026-10-09.
  14. Booking.com, Understanding your commission (Booking.com for Partners, Partner Help). Primary source, read 2026-10-09.
  15. Booking.com, Joining Payments by Booking.com (Booking.com for Partners, Partner Help). Primary source, read 2026-10-09.
  16. Hipcamp, How much does it cost to list on Hipcamp and is there a commission fee? (Hipcamp Help) (2025-08-18). Primary source, read 2026-10-09.
  17. Hipcamp, What is the Hipcamp service fee? (Hipcamp Help). Primary source, read 2026-10-09.
  18. Furnished Finder, Furnished Finder 2026 Pricing and FAQs (Help Center). Primary source, read 2026-10-09.
  19. Furnished Finder, Is Furnished Finder Free to Use as a Traveler? (Help Center). Primary source, read 2026-10-09.

Checked by the Booked News standards desk: every figure on this page was matched against the source it is marked with on 9 October 2026. The page is updated when its sources publish new figures. To report an error, write to the desk with the page address; see the corrections policy.

Comments